The World today 

This blog I want to share my life, my adventures, my stories, and my painfully truth opinions. My focus of this post is ‘The World Today’. One of the biggest arguments going around the country right now is passing of the law allowing gay marriage to be legal. 

In my opinion, this is just an amazing decision. I love God, I wouldn’t say I am perfect in my walk with God as most but I still know the stuff and I follow the Bible. I know what The Bible says about gay marriage, but I also know what The Bible says about judgement and hating your brothers and sisters. No one person is better than the next, we just strive everyday to make ourself a better person then we were the day before. 

Story time of just one of the reasons I’m so for this decision: I was born in Minnesota, a very democratic state. I then moved to Florida to Boca Raton, republican city with some democratic people who are mainly over the age of 50 from another part of the world. I now live in Owasso, Oklahoma. A Bible Belt state. One of THE most republican state in the nation. All around me people are rejoicing over Mary Fallens decision to let priest/pastors decide if they will marry “these people”. I am absolutely disgusted 

When I lived in Boca Raton when I was little I had a best friend named Juliette who I still keep in contact with. She was my partner in crime, my left arm, shoulder when I was sad, everything you want in a best friend, she was that. I loved her and would do anything for her. I moved when I was 10. 

When we were 17 she called me and told me she finally came out, she was lesbian (she is my best friend, I knew months ago she was without even telling me). I asked her when she knew she was lesbian. She told me a story about when we were in SECOND grade. We were at a basketball game and she said someone was cute on the other time. I replied to her “ew you’re lesbian”. I don’t even remember that moment but she remembers it like yesterday. She said ever since then she was confused and didn’t feel right. We went to a Catholic school and she told me how wrong she felt in that school, she felt like her feeling was a sin, she would be shunned, if she ever did come out. In high school she started to be herself and finally came out. 

I believe some people do go through stages and are confused but Juliette knew in SECOND grade, let that sink in. She didn’t know what being lesbian meant, she didn’t know it was wrong to think another girl was cute, she just had this feeling in her that she knew she was attracted to girls, not to boys. She is so passionate in how she feels though she doesn’t let what anyone says offend her. 

When gay marriage was legalized I was so happy for her and it made me happy seeing how happy she was. This is one step that allows acceptance towards LGBT community. 

Did you know Canada has allowed gay marriage for 10 years?! Let that also set in. 

As you can imagine my friends here aren’t so supportive. They shared an article on Facebook about Mary Fallon passing this law and one put “Go Mary Fallon for passing this law before it even becomes official in Oklahoma! So proud to be an Okie!” That post made me absolutely sick. You sinned right on Facebook and did anyone call you out on it? How are you better than the LGBT community? You sinned, they sinned. In the bible it says no sin is weighed greater than another. God doesn’t judge gay people more than he judges you. You assume a life time of gay sends you straight to hell. How about a life time of judging others? Drinking to get drunk? Sex outside of marriage? Divorce? adultery? They don’t think about it because they are better than others. 

They aren’t. 

Sometimes it’s scary to state your opinion but this is one I feel so strong about. Not only is my best friend gay, my uncle was gay and he passed away a year before I was married but stories of him made him sound so full of life. He didn’t kill anyone because he was gay, he didn’t judge anyone because he was gay, he was simple himself. 

How many people out there live behind a lie to make them fit in? LGBT community does something so brave that many of us straight people can’t do, they are themselves. It’s amazing to see one so comfortable in there skin, I admire that. I hope some day I will be that brave to be comfortable in my own body. 

Before you judge, count your sins and see if you’re anymore likely to stand in front of God on judgement day and not be questioned about how you lived. 
Think about this my Christian community. Turn people to Christ by loving others, don’t make people turn away by your harsh crticizism. 

Leave a comment